By Joe Pinter, News Editor, @JPinter93
This Day in Bonaventure History
January 23, 2004
After Lynch Hall burned down in 1933, De La Roche Hall was built in its place. The bottom two floors of Lynch Hall had remained, though both were severely damaged by smoke and water. The new science building was named in memory of Fr. Joseph de La Roche d’Allion, O.F.M, the first European to discover oil in North America. (Even the plaque over the doorway to the building depicts oil wells.)
On the back of the building is the same white stone archway that existed over the entrance of the New College Building, which stood on the same site, but before Lynch was built. It reads, “1900 St. Bonaventure’s College.”
De La Roche received a facelift in the 1970s. The major renovations cost approximately $1.3 million.
But it was on this day that St. Bonaventure University received a $4.5 million grant for renovations to De La Roche.
De La Roche Hall looks a little different today. The William F. Walsh Science Center was built in 2007, connecting the two buildings.